MSSF Meetings

On the third Tuesday of each month from September thru May, the Mycological Society of San Francisco has a General Meeting at the County Fair Building. Note: All regular General Meetings are open to the public. The highlight of each meeting is a speaker with slides on some aspect of mycology and mushrooming: ecology, taxonomy, mycophagy, sociology, etc. Before each meeting members bring collections which are put on display and identified. Refreshments are served before the meeting. Doors open and identification starts at 7 pm and the meeting starts at 8 pm. (The December meeting is replaced by a dinner at a different location.)

Next Meeting

  • Date: Tuesday, September 15th, 2015
  • Speaker: Jackie Shay
  • A Mushroom Expedition to Madagascar

Jackie is a student of Dr. Dennis Desjardin at San Francisco State University. She is in the final stages of completing her thesis on Marasmius of Madagascar. She is fascinated by fungi and the various roles they play in ecosystem dynamics. She intends to continue her education in sustainable agriculture with the hopes of one day working in the San Joaquin Valley as a soil mycologist. Jackie is an adventurer, a life-long learner, and passionate educator who is only too fond of cheese. Smile and wave, she loves to say hello!

  • Map & Directions
  • Event calendar
  • 2013 Meeting Schedule

    2015 Meetings

      Parasol mushroom
    • No meeting in December
    • Tuesday, November 17, 2015
    • Tuesday, October 20, 2015
    • Tuesday, September 15, 2015
    • No meetings June-August
    • Tuesday, May 19, 2015
    • Tuesday, April 21, 2015
    • Tuesday, March 17, 2015
    • Tuesday, February 17, 2015
    • Tuesday, January 20, 2015

    2014 Meetings

    • No meeting in December
    • Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    • Tuesday, October 21, 2014
    • Tuesday, September 16, 2014 video
    • No meetings June-August
    • Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    • Tuesday, April 15, 2014 video
    • Tuesday, March 18, 2014 video
    • Tuesday, February 18, 2014 video
    • Tuesday, January 21, 2014 video

    2013 Meetings

    • No meeting in December
    • Tuesday, November 19, 2013 video
    • Tuesday, October 15, 2013 video
    • Tuesday, September 17, 2013 Talk & Slides
    • No meetings June-August
    • Tuesday, May 21, 2013 video
    • Tuesday, April 16, 2013 video 1 video 2
    • Tuesday, March 19, 2013 video
    • Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    • Tuesday, January 15, 2013